A Moment of Honesty

4 Sep

Good afternoon hot stuff(s)!

Hope you’ve all had an awesomeee week! If it’s anything like mine youve been BEYOND busy!! Can you believe FALL is setting in and school and work are about to/already have kicked up a notch? Its crazy how busy this time of year gets!

Anyhow-This week has been a rollercoaster of work, school, play, and shopping. My bank account (or lack there of) lately is hitting an all time low and I’m so happy that a job has come my way! Although between work and school-some day’s i’ll be going from 8am-8pm-I am so THANKFUL for this opportunity and the extra cash will be so helpful.

$$$ You feel me college homies?? $$$

I really don’t have that much to catch you all up on but as far as food and cooking goes-the late time snacking/mindless eating is still a struggle for me but I feel better for the most part. I don’t have any eats pics from this week because Ive been in such a rush Ive hardly had time to think about my food let alone get a scrumptious picture of it!(and sometimes its just awk to take pictures of your food in certain settings ie class, social events…)

I promise ill be back next week with actual foodie pics and fun =]

Moment of Honesty:

Hi, I’m Claire. And I haven’t exercised in a month.

I feel a cringe just saying that. But its TRUE-I have not worked this body out in a 4 weeks. Who am I? How can I be part of the Healthy Living Blog world and not put exercise at the top of my to-do list? I feel guilt but also satisfaction. I truley miss exercising for the endorphins, muscle/mind/body movenment but I do not feel like Ive missed out on being a slave to the elliptical or track.

Heres the kicker: After a month of not exercising-I’m STILL alive. My body still works. I still feel strong. My clothes still fit. I am still smiling.

My clothes may be snugger, I may not have the extra endorphins from working out but I am still ME. God still loves me. For those of you facing recovery or balancing life in general I just want to remind you that exercise is NOT everything. You are still YOU even if you don’t get on the treadmill and bust out 4miles a day. Walking counts! LAUGHING counts, being a strong,healthy individual COUNTS. I am not criticizing any of you that work out everyday of the week-I just want this to be a reminder that it’s okay to be honest with yourself and your body and exercise does not have to be your life.

“There’s lots of people in this world who spend so much time watching their health that they haven’t the time to enjoy it.”  ~Josh Billings

This was hard for me to admit, but I hope it helps others see that you can still live a happy life and not have focus solely on working out to “feel” good about yourself everyday.

XOXO

Claire

8 Responses to “A Moment of Honesty”

  1. Molly September 4, 2010 at 7:38 pm #

    you dont have to work out religiously…or even at all…to be a healthy living blog! Sometimes the healthiest thing to do is take some time off and rest awhile. Clothes fitting tighter is a good thing sometimes. You are still healthy, and damn it you are still strong!

    You are amazing girl! and SO gorgeous!
    Have a fabulous weekend 🙂

    xo-Molly

  2. Kristin September 4, 2010 at 8:04 pm #

    you look so incredibly beautiful in that dress…if that’s what clothes fitting tighter looks like, i want mine to fit tighter too! 🙂 and i love the quote at the end of the post–it’s so true. you’re the best..xoxo

  3. Jessica@tastyandtrim September 4, 2010 at 9:47 pm #

    You have such an amazing outlook on life! Sometimes I have a hard time skipping a workout, but what you are saying is so true. You don’t need to exercise everyday to be happy and feel good about yourself!

  4. Courtney (Pancakes & Postcards) September 5, 2010 at 1:51 am #

    That quote at the end is awesome. Its funny how we get so caught up now in “working out” and “exercise” and “cardio” but humans have been around for thousands of years (and healthy) and did they talk about those things? No! They just moved their body, and used it in their daily life. That’s all we need to do. We aren’t meant to sit in chairs 12 hours a day and that’s when formal “exercise” becomes more important. But it is totally possible to be healthy without it if you just move! 🙂 Loved your post.

  5. sjs427 September 5, 2010 at 8:37 am #

    Skipping out on “hardcore” exercise is not a bad thing! If you’re going 8 to 8, you’re most likely constantly on the move – that all counts towards daily exercise! My nutritionist told me to ALWAYS count the four hours of walking I do at work (shelving/shifting books) and the power walking I do around campus to get to classes! Just make sure you’re fueling yourself to get you through those 12 hour days!! 😀 You look great, and congrats on the job!

  6. Erica @ Fashion meets Food September 6, 2010 at 4:37 pm #

    That dress is way too cute! You look absolutely gorgeous!!

    xo

  7. Jessica September 6, 2010 at 8:45 pm #

    Hi! Just wanted to say that I just found your blog and I love it! This post was great – and something that I need to hear over and over again. I workout too much : (

  8. missymiller September 11, 2010 at 7:16 pm #

    Oh wow…I am so very grateful to have read that right now. I have been too low-energy to work out and it kills me because I miss it so much. BUT, like you. I am alive. I can smile. Thanks again, Missy

Leave a Reply

