Weekend Recap! LOTS of pictures =]

15 Aug

This weekend was by far one of my favorite weekends this summer. It was full of delicious eats, good friends, family time, God and LOTs of laughing!   

“I love people who make me laugh. I honestly think it’s the thing I like most, to laugh.  It cures a multitude of ills. It’s probably the most important thing in a person.” Audrey Hepburn  

 Amen girl, amen. Laughing is the best, it is the sensation that truly makes a person glow from the inside and out. 🙂   

For starters, both my parents and my brother took off work on Friday so we could spend time as a family. Since it is so hard for us to all find time to hang out/vacation when our schedules are constantly all over the place-a “day-cation” was necessary.   

We went to a place called “The Grounds for Sculputre” in Hamilton, NJ and it was so sO SO much fun!!   

We stopped at Wawa in the morning to get gas and my brother and I immediatly went in the snack shop and stocked up on candy for the trip(it was only an hour drive lol). My Mom reassured me that it was okay to have an apple and sweedish fish as breakfast…because it WAS vacation 😉   

There was so much ground to cover when we got there and so many (inappropriate) jokes to make about the AWESOME (nakie) sculptures we saw. -yes our minds were all in the gutter that day. So be it.   

Here are some of the pictures from the day: 

 

The happy married couple!

 

Waiting for the bathroom...

  

Shaving with my homegirl.

 

We're biffs.

There are sooooo many more pictures but I won’t bore you with any more! We had SUCH a great day and ate a DELISH french restaurant while we were there. Lots of bread and garlic butter, pomme frits (best fries ever), salmon baked into a puffed pastry, and CREME BRULEE :  

 

Yes, that butterfly was edible-and scrumptious!

  

And on to more eats!   

Egg white om w/baby bell peps, onions, mushrooms, laughing cow swiss, spinach and canadian bacon. perfection

  

Mom's "once a summer" BLUEBERRY PIE 🙂

  

Baked tortilla chips with Wholey Guacamole!

  

A true homecooked meal-Flank steak, au-gratin potates, and green beans. (I had 2 more servings of potatoes-i couldn't resist!)

  

DUNKINNNN !

  

(unpictured DD blueberry muffin…the top layer of muffins are to die for!) Ive been in such a blueberry mood lately. My toes are even painted blue right now! So summery 🙂   

Those are just a few of my most delicious eats from the weekend. I also took the train into the City to see one of my best friends :   

photobooth is our fav

  

new apartments and went for a few long walks with my Mom (window shopping walks that is…)   

I havent exercised all week…which is both good and bad. Good because my body truly hasnt felt up to it (believe me I tried) and I want to give it the rest its asking for and bad because I know I need those extra endorphins and the natural energy to keep me going for the start of school. Exercising also makes me feel better about my body and I definitly have been harder on myself this week because of that-but I’m learning to let that go. We do what we can in life and sometimes we just need the time away from working out to really tune back into our bodies!   

QUESTIONS:   

  1. What were your best eats this weekend?
  2. Do you ever take week-long breaks from the gym?

Tip for the week:   

Spend a little extra time with your family this week. They’ll really appreciate it. I forgot how good it was to hang out with JUST my family for the day and it was a blast 🙂   

Thanks again for reading!!   

XOXO   

Claire

2 Responses to “Weekend Recap! LOTS of pictures =]”

  1. Molly August 15, 2010 at 9:00 pm #

    I was at HLS all weekend so obviously the eats were a bloggy’s heaven! My favorite was lunch yesterday…a buffet of fresh veggies piled high, with salad and sandwhich and tofu. YUM!

    Glad you’re living up your summer!

    xo-Molly
    http://www.givinganythingbutup.wordpress.com

  2. erinsloves August 16, 2010 at 9:49 am #

    Best eats of the weekend…Chocolate Mousse Brownie Pie..Good gracious it was good, and I ate WAY too much of it!!

    Until the past few weeks, I was really weird about exercising. I would go like a week where I would do it every day- and then not work out for 2 or 3. I’ve never really been a fan of exercise in the form of like running/weights and stuff. I did a lot of dance growing up, and that was all I really cared to do. You could seriously not pay me a million dollars to run more than a mile at a time..lol it just would not happen- I blame it on my short legs!
    Glad you had a good weekend..LOVE your picture girl!
    Much love!!

Leave a Reply

